The decision

Oct. 5, 2011:

Hi everyone!

I wanted to share with you some exciting news that I’ve just recently confirmed. As many of you know, over the last few months I’ve been looking into some international volunteer/work options, and I’ve finally come across an opportunity that feels right.

I’m happy to say that I will be volunteering in South America for 3 months starting in January with an international development organization called Youth Challenge International. Although I don’t know any concrete details about the location or project content yet (that will come closer to my departure date), my placement is in Guyana and I will most likely be living in a remote community a couple hours out of Georgetown, the capital.

I think it will be an amazing experience and I’m really looking forward to getting started! The first step, however, is to fundraise! Youth Challenge International has requested that I raise $3900 which will go towards program costs, including accommodation, meals, transport, security, and program materials for the volunteers throughout our stay in Guyana.

I know it seems like a lot, and is a bit of a daunting task for me at the moment, but I think I am ready for the challenge! I’m prepared to pay for any outstanding costs leading up to my departure, but I would still really appreciate any donations you could offer! As they say, every dollar counts!!! Here’s the link to my personal fundraising page on YCI’s website.

Thank you all so much! Please let me know if you are interested in learning more about the project I’ll be working on or about the organization itself. I’ve included the link to their website below.

Allison

Youth Challenge International

Categories: Guyana, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Allison Burney

"To live will be an awfully big adventure." - Peter Pan

ideas.ted.com

Explore ideas worth spreading

home hopper

“Do not follow where the path may lead. Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Tales of a Travel Addict

Wandering the world one country at a time

A year of reading the world

196 countries, countless stories...

The 100 Greatest Books Challenge

A journey from one end of the bookshelf to the other

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

Anne Peterson

I write stories and goosebump poetry

